Jürgen Kocka awarded Holberg Prize 2011

Publisert 08.06.2011
H. R. H. Crown Prince Haakon presented Holberg International Memorial Prize to Professor Jürgen Kocka, and Minister of Research and Higher Education, Tora Aasland, presented the Nils Klim Prize to Dr. Jørn Jakobsen.

- History shows how changeable capitalism has been over time. It has survived and outlived its enemies since it is a system which can learn, be reformed and adjusted to different conditions. But these reconfigurations of capitalism are not mainly the work of the capitalists, but, to a large part, results of criticism, anger and pressure from the public and politics. Capitalism needs its critics. Presently criticism of capitalism is week – quite in contrast to the 1930s.

Jürgen Kocka focused on capitalism and its changes during history in his speech of thanks in Håkonshallen in Norway Wednesday 8. June 2011.

As a Visiting Professor Kocka teaches regularly at the University of California, Los Angeles and he is presently a Permanent Fellow at the International Research Center re:work at the Humboldt University in Berlin.

This year is the 8th time that the Holberg Memorial Prize is awarded for outstanding scholarly work in the arts and humanities, social science, law and theology. The value of the prize is 785.000 Dollars (NOK 4.5 million/565.000 Euro). H. K. H. Crown Prince Haakon presented the Holberg International Memorial Prize 2011.

Excerpts from the citation of the Holberg Prize Academic Committee:
“Kocka is a public intellectual whose engagement with memory construction and the politics of history promotes enlightened and democratic institutions, and leads him to struggle against exclusions, privileges and inequalities. Jürgen Kocka is among the most influential historians working today.”

The Holberg Prize, which was established by the Norwegian Parliament in 2003, is awarded annually by the Board of the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund. Holberg Prize Laureates: Jürgen Kocka (2011), Natalie Zemon Davis (2010), Ian Hacking (2009), Fredric R. Jameson (2008), Ronald Dworkin (2007), Shmuel N. Eisenstadt (2006), Jürgen Habermas (2005), Julia Kristeva (2004).

Jørn Jacobsen was awarded Nils Klim Prize 2011
Jørn Jacobsen, scholar at University of Bergen, has been awarded the Nils Klim Prize for Nordic researchers below 35 years old in the fields of social sciences, humanities, law and theology. His research interests are criminal law and legal theory. The prize is worth 30.000 Euro/NOK 250,000. Minister of Research and Higher Education presented the Nils Klim Prize 2011.